Doublets: Ignorance is Bliss

atkins-bookshelf-quotations“I was aware that I didn’t know anything about making films, but I believed I couldn’t make them any worse than the majority of film I was seeing. Bad films gave me the courage to try making a movie.”

Stanley Kubrick, cinematographer, screenwriter, and director (2001: A Space Odyssey, Dr. Strangelove, A Clockwork Orange, The Shining, Full Metal Jacket) from a rare, undated interview.

“I didn’t know what you couldn’t do. I didn’t deliberately set out to invent anything. It just seemed to me, ‘Why not?’ That was the gift I brought [Citizen] Kane — ignorance.”

Orson Welles, actor, theatre director, screenwriter, and film director (Citizen Kane and The Magnificent Ambersons), from an interview published in The Paris Interview (1960).

 

Read related posts: Doublets: Youth and Maturity
Doublets: You Cannot Run Away From Yourself
Doublets: The Lessons of History
Doublets: Reading a Great Book
Doublets: Tolerance

Join the conversation

