Daily Rituals of Writers: Isaac Asimov

atkins-bookshelf-literatureScience fiction writer Isaac Asimov (1920-1992) was one of the world’s most prolific authors, having written more than 506 works during his lifetime. Asimov credits his father for his strong work ethic. His father, Judah Asimov, managed a candy store in Brooklyn, New York, and each day he would open the store at 6:00 am and closed it at 1:00 am. Every member of the family was expected to work at the candy store. “I must have liked the long hours,” he explained in his memoir, “for in later life I never took the attitude of ‘I’ve worked hard all my childhood… and now I’m going to take it easy and sleep until noon.’… I have kept the candy store hours all my life… I can only say that there were certain advantages offered by the candy store that had nothing to do with mere survival, but, rather, with overflowing happiness, and that this was so associated with the long hours as to make them sweet to me and to fix them upon me for all my life.” Asimov also credits the candy store, since it also sold magazines and newspapers, for his introduction to and lifelong passion for reading and writing. Sweet.

Read related posts: Daily Rituals of Writers: Truman Capote
Daily Rituals of Writers: William Faulkner
What Would Famous Authors Order at Starbucks

The Daily Word Quotas of Famous Authors
Random Fascinating Facts About Authors
Words Invented by Famous Authors

For further reading: Daily Rituals: How Artists Work by Mason Currey (2013)
I. Asimov: A Memoir by Isaac Asimov (1994)

Join the conversation

