The Fable of the Scorpion and the Frog

atkins-bookshelf-quotationsScorpion wants to cross a river, but he can’t swim. [He] goes to the frog, who can, and asks for a ride. Frog says, “If I give you a ride on my back, you’ll go and sting me.” Scorpion replies, “It would not be in my interest to sting you since as I’ll be on your back we both would drown.” Frog thinks about this logic for a while and accepts the deal [and] takes the scorpion on his back, [braving] the waters. Halfway over [Frog] feels a burning spear in his side and realizes the scorpion has stung him after all. And as they both sink beneath the waves the frog cries out, “Why did you sting me, Mr. Scorpion, for now we both will drown?” Scorpion replies, “I can’t help it, it’s in my nature.”

Spoken by Jody, a British soldier who is kidnapped by the IRA, from the film, The Crying Game, written and directed by Neil Jordan.

Read related posts: The Parable of the Carpenter’s Son
Clothes Makes the Man

Join the conversation

