I Am a Part of Everything That I Have Read

atkins-bookshelf-quotationsI am a part of everything that I have read.

The quote, attributed to Theodore (“Teddy”) Roosevelt (1858-1919), the 26th President of the United States, is a variation from a well-known line from Lord Alfred Tennyson’s poem Ulysses: “I am a part of all that I have met.” (The rest of the passage reads: “Yet all experience is an arch wherethro/ Gleams that untravell’d world whose margin fades/ Forever when I move.”)  Following this theme, John Francis Kieran (1892-1981), an American author and journalist, wrote: “I am a part of all that I have read.”

Join the conversation

