Doublets: Change Yourself, Not the World

atkins-bookshelf-quotations“I wanted to change the world. But I have found that the only thing one can be sure of changing, is oneself.”

Aldous Huxley, British writer (best known for Brave New World) and philosopher (1894-1963), in Point Counter Point. Compare this to what Leo Tolstoy once wrote: “Everybody thinks of changing humanity, but nobody thinks of changing himself.”

“Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself.”

Rumi (Jalal ad-Din Muhammad Rumi),  Persian poet, theologian, and Sufi master (1207-1273)

 

Read related posts: Doublets: Genius
Doublets: Youth and Maturity
Doublets: You Cannot Run Away From Yourself
Doublets: The Lessons of History
Doublets: Reading a Great Book
Doublets: Tolerance
Doublets: The Role of Religion
Doublets: Things Left Unsaid

Join the conversation

