The Legacy of Mothers

atkins bookshelf quotations“Children are capsules that we launch into the future,” writes Jena Pincott. ” With what do we fill them? Compassion and dignity. Curiosity and wisdom.  The meaning of values, the value of meaning. Love… All that we’ve taught our children, all that we learned ourselves, can fuel them in the future. That is [a mother’s] legacy.” In Mom Candy, Pincott has collected some of the sweetest quotations about the legacy of mothers. Here is a small assortment:

“Children are the living messages we send to a time we will not see.” (Neil Postman)

“You are the bows from which your children as living arrows are sent forth.” (Kahlil Gibran)

“A hundred years from now it will not matter what my bank account was, the sort of house I lived in, or the kind of car I drove… but the world may be different because I was important in the life of a child.” (Forest Witchcraft)

“If I have a monument in this world, it is my son.” (Maya Angelou)

“The human heart was not designed to beat outside the human body and yet, each child represented just that–a parent’s heart bared, beating forever outside its chest. (Debra Ginsberg)

“The most beautiful sight in the world is a little child going confidently down the road of life after you have shown him the way.” (Confucius)

“Parents are like shuttles on a loom. They join the threads of the past with threads of the future and leave their own bright patterns as they go.” (Fred Rogers)

“My mom is a never-ending song in my heart of comfort, happiness, and being. I may sometimes forget the words but I always remember the tune.” (Gracie Harmon)

“My mother’s love for me was so great I have worked hard to justify it.” (Marc Chagall)

Read related posts: Wisdom of a Grandmother
Wisdom of Tom Shadyac
Wisdom of Morrie Schwartz

READ THE BOOK

Join the conversation

