In the Company of Books and Their Characters

catkins-bookshelf-literature“My father had let a small collection of books in a little room upstairs, to which I had access (for it adjoined my own) and which nobody else in our house ever troubled. From that blessed little room, Roderick Random, Peregrine Pickle, Humphrey Clinker, Tom Jones, the Vicar of Wakefield, Don Quixote, Gil Blas, and Robinson Crusoe, came out, a glorious host, to keep me company. They kept alive my fancy, and my hope of something beyond that place and time.”

From David Copperfield by Charles Dickens. Dickens’ eighth novel, published in serial form in 1849-50, is considered to be his most autobiographical. Not surprisingly, it came to be Dickens’s favorite novels, as affirmed in the preface to a later edition, published in 1867: “[Like] many fond parents, I have in my heart of hearts a favourite child. And his name is David Copperfield.”

Read related posts: Saying Goodbye to a Novel’s Characters
Why Read Dickens?
Words Invented by Dickens
The Inspiration for Dickens’s A Christmas Carol
Who Are the Greatest Shakespeare Characters?
The Most Influential People Who Never Lived
Who Are the Most Influential Characters of Literature?
The Power of Literature

2 responses to “In the Company of Books and Their Characters

  • etinkerbell

    So well these words describe the magic of reading! Hi, Alexander, I have not been blogging for a while (massive amount of troubles), let me thank you for the wonderful words you wrote to me and apologize for not having been that prompt in replying. I hope you’ll understand. Thanks again. Stefy.

Join the conversation

